The Association of Carpathian Region Universities (ACRU) is an international association of higher education institutions. It was established in 1994 by sixteen universities and colleges from five coutries of the Carpathian region to encourage links among its member institutions and throughout the world. The main objective of the Association is the advancement of academic, scientific and cultural cooperation, taking advantage of the particular dynamics of the long established historic and cultural links developed in the Carpathian Region. The link address is: