Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
24 juin 2019

Wikipedia Founder Discourages Academic Use of His Creation

By Stephen Downes - Stephen's Web. Unattributed[Edit][Delete]: Wikipedia Founder Discourages Academic Use of His Creation, Chronicle of Higher Education [Edit][Delete] June 14, 2006
While technically true, this Chronicle headline is very misleading. Wales actually says, "For God sake, you're in college; don't cite the encyclopedia." Which of course could apply equally well to Britannica. And it calls to mind my own academic background, where (somewhere in grade 8, I think) I was told not to quote the encyclopedia, but to use it to find primary sources. Of course, my teachers were referring to World Book, one of my favorite reads at the time. So, yeah, don't cite the encyclopedia. More...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 784 150
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives