Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
27 avril 2015

A Certain Closeness

http://chronicle.com/img/photos/biz/linguafranca-45.pngBy . Do you see any grammatical mistake in the sentence “He had developed a closeness to his recent suffering”? A classics teacher married to an author wrote to me a while ago to ask me this:

I am doing some editing on my wife’s new book (really, it’s just an excuse for me to get to read it a few times!), and she has a fairly consistent usage that Word (and the Internet) find to be completely unacceptable.

His wife was using phrases like a closeness, and Word was reporting that the first of those words should be dropped. More...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 785 735
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives