Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
13 octobre 2014

Today’s PhD students face more pressure

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQWMTBx0CPzMFK637Zb6AgNbjhxfVRtTVkrwKoq4ZPL2p18KKWOEwB3AWIBy Alan MacEachern. The typical PhD funding package is for four or five years but the typical PhD takes six or seven.
It has been said that to play pool well is a sign of a misspent youth. Or, in my case, of a doctoral degree. Maybe that amounts to the same thing. I got quite good at pool in years four to six of my PhD. When grad students ask me how long my degree took, I squirm. “Seven-plus years. But really, just four. Once I got down to it, I actually got through very quickly, in a way.” I spent much of that time finding excuses to do more research, making outlines, bartending and playing pool. I didn’t write. One day, archaeologists will undoubtedly trace Jesus’s missing years to a PhD in religious studies. More...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 765
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives