Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
22 juin 2014

Long Term Needs

http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/blog_landing/public/provost.jpg?itok=k-3W3N__By Herman Berliner. At the time that I stood for tenure, I was the only untenured person in the economics department. Early on in the review of my candidacy, the discussion changed from a comprehensive look at my qualifications to a more impersonal discussion regarding long term needs and whether there should ever be 100% tenure in any department.  As an economist, I clearly understood long term needs and that ultimately, regardless of how well a tenure candidate meets the standards for teaching, scholarship and service, these cannot be the only determining factors.  The deliberations on this issue took many months but ultimately the need was clear and I was awarded tenure. Read more...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 885
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives