Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
10 mai 2014

Math Geek Mom: A Mother’s Perspective

http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/blog_landing/public/mama_phd_blog_header.jpg?itok=C5xGPD1aBy Rosemarie Emanuele. A few years ago, I reviewed a book about Statistics that proposed what were actually some pretty radical ideas. Noting  that data had more to tell us than could be found from  just hypothesis tests about what a “true mean” might be, it presented a whole new way of looking at data, one that intrigued me and often finds its way into my statistics courses. I was particularly interested in the fact that the author used  a quote on the first page of the text, a quote from the scientist Carl Sagan. I found myself thinking of this in the last few months as I have been glued to the TV watching episodes of the re-make of the series originally presented by Carl Sagan. It was, and is, called “Cosmos”. Read more...
Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 785 557
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives