http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/blog_landing/public/confessions_of_a_community_college_dean_blog_header.jpg?itok=rd4sr8khBy Matt Reed. Hope lives in the cracks.
This week I’ve been awash in data, from various sources.  On campus, we had our first real “Data Day,” in which we made actual posters of all manner of IR data and shared it with the entire faculty and staff.  The idea was to provide a common factual base for on-campus discussions of policy, innovations, and planning.  I don’t know if everybody “got” the subtext, but I did see some folks lingering at particular posters for extended periods, pointing at individual numbers and talking to each other.  To the extent that we can replace hunch or anecdote with fact, I have to believe we’ll be better off, even if some of the facts weren’t terribly encouraging in themselves. Earlier this week, the Chronicle published one of the more disturbing data-driven pieces I’ve seen in a while. Read more...