Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
4 novembre 2013

Higher education: A euphemism for debt - A fresh take

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-prn2/276439_21678484057_1555522661_q.jpgBy Kelli Reeder. America’s priorities are out of order. It seems that every year, government officials voice the need for a better education system. This cannot be ignored, and every year it seems to be pushed down on the list of priorities. A lot of people point to low teacher wages, poor quality elementary and high school classes or facilities as the biggest issues with education, but the issue with the biggest effect on America as a whole is the growing price of college tuition.
Paying for college is nearly the only thing that I’m working toward right now, other than trying to keep up in my classes.
Paying for college doesn’t always seem like a huge problem, but then I realize the true costs and trade-offs that come with it. Working is very important to me because that’s how I pay for school, but it’s funny how going to school and working plays out — I want to work as much as possible so I can pay for school, but I also want to have time to actually attend class, do well and succeed. By giving up hours of work, I get better grades, but I also can’t afford to pay for my next semester.

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 785 058
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives