Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
9 juin 2013

Self-funded PhD students deserve support, not stigma and secrecy

The Guardian homeBy Luca Marazzi. Thousands pursue PhDs without research funding every year, says Luca Marazzi – it's a challenging but rewarding path. At the peak of the recession in September 2008, I moved to the UK looking for a possible career as an ecologist. I started my PhD in geography at University College London and, hoping to obtain funding, I enrolled full-time. Unfortunately my applications failed, and after less than a year, I chose to shift to part-time status and get a job. There was roughly one college-wide full studentship for every 100 students and research council funding was insufficient. Read more...
Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 765
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives