Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
26 mai 2013

Not Lottery/Not Meritocracy, What Is It?

http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/large/public/JustVisitingLogo_white.jpgByJohn Warner. There was a time when I thought of myself as “The Rejectionist.” From 2003 until 2007 I edited McSweeney’s Internet Tendency. Many of you may not know this publication, but it is a cultishly popular website associated with McSweeney’s Publishing, a company founded by author/activist Dave Eggers. Among certain demographics, McSweeney’s means something. For that period of time, every week I would reject 200 or more submissions while accepting anywhere between three and five. Our rejection rate approached 99%. Since 2007, I’ve had a different, much more pleasant, editorial role with McSweeney’s, but to give the current editor a break, I’ve been back at the helm of the S.S. Heartbreak, and it’s got me thinking about things. Read more...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 785 162
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives