Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
23 janvier 2013

Education questions: is it worth getting a master's degree?

http://bathknightblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/telegraph-logo.jpgBy Thomas Cookson. The perceived devaluing of first degrees has led to a rise in the numbers of graduates taking second degrees. But is it worth it? Tommy Cookson answers your questions.
Q
I am an English literature student and, as a second year, I am now coming to terms with the fact that it is a little too late to turn back now. I love my course, but I do not wish to pursue an academic career. A lot of the graduate schemes I am looking into do not require professional qualifications; however, they attract a number of postgraduate-degree-holding applicants, as well as mere BA students such as myself. Would it really be worth my while in terms of time and money to add a few extra strings to my bow with a Masters in a non-literature-related subject, or should I present myself to firms as young, malleable and eager to learn about the industry through first-hand experience? FP, Cambridge
A
I’d go the young, malleable and eager-to-learn route. You haven’t yet mapped out a career path or even decided what you want to do. What you need is some direct experience to help you decide. I wouldn’t even wait until you graduate: do some work experience at the end of your second year at university and, if possible, get involved in running something at university. It might also be a good idea to arrange an internship after you graduate, too. With all this, you and prospective employers will be able to judge what other qualities you’ve got beside brains. Read more...
Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 885
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives