Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
14 août 2012

‘I’m Not Paying for Your Opinion’

http://chronicle.com/img/photos/biz/icons/on-hiring-nameplate.gifBy Rob Jenkins. Perhaps, to explain Richard Arum and Josipa Roksa’s now infamous findings in Academically Adrift, we need look no further than the current customer-service culture. That thought came to me after a recent incident in my introductory rhetoric course.
We were talking about the way that social mores and public opinions change over time, and how writing both influences and reflects those changes. When I broached one particularly controversial topic, a student interjected, “But that’s just your opinion, and I’m not paying for your opinion.”
OK, then.

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 786 266
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives