16 février 2017

Cambridge alumni win 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics

Three alumni of the University of Cambridge (a LERU university) were awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics for their pioneering work in the field of condensed matter physics.
David Thouless (Trinity Hall, 1952), Duncan Haldane (Christ’s, 1970) and Michael Kosterlitz (Gonville and Caius, 1962) discovered unexpected behaviours of solid materials - and devised a mathematical framework to explain their properties. Their discoveries have led to new materials with an array of unique properties. More...

Posté par : pcassuto à - - Permalien [#]