http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/large/public/Screen%20Shot%202011-12-12%20at%2012.29.48%20PM.pngBy Justin Dunnavant. Every semester I try to find new ways to improve the way I write and teach. In previous years I’ve committed to learning Photoshop to create better visuals for presentations, painting to boost my creativity, and sculpting to get a better understanding of pottery production (an important skill for archaeologists). Last semester I devoted the bulk of my attention to WordPress to learn the basics of web design.  WordPress is the internet’s largest blogging platform and is the foundation of nearly 20% of all webpages on the internet. Many popular blogs and websites run on WordPress. Although there is a bit of a learning curve, it’s a worthwhile platform for graduate students to learn. I initially set out to learn WordPress to improve my teaching; I later discovered it’s a great tool for starting a professional career and fostering dialogue around your research. With my basic understanding of WordPress I’ve been able to create a class website, a personal landing page, and a communal research blog. Read more...