Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
8 décembre 2013

By Jennifer Polk. What did you hope for in terms

http://www.universityaffairs.ca/images/Blog-phd-to-life.jpgBy Jennifer Polk. What did you hope for in terms of employment as you completed your PhD?  
Like many PhDs in the Humanities, I initially hoped for a full-time, tenure-track professorship at a university. I was actively on the job market from 2006-2010, but probably applied to only 50-60 schools total (much less than others). Although we were quasi-warned in graduate school about the surfeit of humanities PhDs and dearth of full-time positions, I kept my hopes up at some level. We kept hearing about those “older professors who’ll be retiring soon,” though in hindsight I was too idealistic and gave the university system too much credit in thinking my career ambition would work. More...

Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 765
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives