http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/blog_landing/public/law.jpg?itok=7sode5LvBy Tracy Mitrano. This semester I am fortunate to be taking part in an IT leadership program at Cornell University. Part of the program includes giving a presentation, and I was thrilled to find “the impact that distance learning has on higher education,” as one of the topics. I am in Florida now at the Sloan Consortium Conference, and so I hope to intellectually vacuum up as much information as I can to help our group prepare for our presentation in January.  With all the members of our group providing input, this morning I compiled a list of 10 reasons why an institution would want to embrace what I have called, “Distance Learning (and MOOCs in Particular)" or “DL/M” in short. Read more...