http://www.insidehighered.com/sites/default/server_files/styles/large/public/CRW.jpgBy Lee Skallerup Bessette. I’ve written previously about how, before I wanted to be a professor, I wanted to be a journalist. I started writing press releases and copy for my swim team when I was 14 or 15 years old. Our high school didn’t have a newspaper, but there were opportunities for student writers to publish in the major English Montreal daily, The Gazette, which I took advantage of as much as I could. If I hadn’t been invested in swimming, I probably would have tried to start a newspaper, but for me, swimming was the way to get a scholarship and get a free education and out of the house. I continued in college (CEGEP) to write entertainment reviews for the paper there, and then in university ended up editing the English-language college newspaper. Read more...