Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Formation Continue du Supérieur
13 avril 2013

Race and the Global Digital Humanities Edition

http://chronicle.com/img/photos/biz/icons/on-hiring-nameplate.gifBy Gina Stewart. Many years ago, I had dinner with my wise friend Sheila Campbell, who used to run a very successful advertising business in Washington, D.C. She related this story to me.
When we hired at the agency, we interviewed candidates, decided which one we wanted to hire, and then asked for that person’s salary requirements. If we could afford the requested salary, we would make an offer. One year when I was reviewing the books, I realized (to my growing horror) that I was paying men much more than women for performing the same work. But it was what they had asked for … . So I went to each underpaid employee, offered a salary adjustment, explained why, and said to each, ‘This is probably the only time in your life that someone else will do this. From now on, you have to know what you are worth, and ask for it.” Read more...
Commentaires
Newsletter
49 abonnés
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 2 783 504
Formation Continue du Supérieur
Archives