European Commission has set up bilateral agreements between the European Union and some industrialised countries outside Europe to fund innovative projects that focus on academic cooperation and student mobility. The programmes under these agreements give support to consortia of higher education and training institutions working together to improve their educational services, to compare and modernise curricula and to develop joint study programmes with recognition of credits and qualifications.
The Executive Agency , unit P10 manages the following three bilateral co-operation programmes: Atlantis Programme
The EU-USA Agreement focuses on implementing joint or dual transatlantic undergraduate degrees with consortia of higher education and training institutions through the ATLANTIS programme. It aims primarily to promote understanding between people of the European Union and the United States of America and improve the quality of their human resource development. Cooperation Programme
For Transatlantic Exchange Partnership (TEP) and Transatlantic Degree Partnership (TDP)
The EU-Canada Programme funds joint study and training programmes allowing transatlantic exchanges between European and Canadian education institutions. The Agreement focuses on four activities to benefit higher education students, vocational education and training teachers, trainers and administrative staff. Cooperation Programme under the framework of the industrial countries instrument (ICI ECP)
ICI-ECP Education Cooperation Programme refers to EU cooperation with Australia, New Zealand, Japan, and the Republic of Korea in the field of higher education and vocational education and training. The programme includes regional and bilateral cooperation projects based on joint EU - Partner Countries funding and mutual agreement on the selection of higher education partnerships.