ENIC Network (European Network of Information Centres)
To implement the Lisbon Recognition Convention and, in general, to develop policy and practice for the recognition of qualifications, the Council of Europe and UNESCO have established the ENIC Network (European Network of National Information Centres on academic recognition and mobility). The Council of Europe and UNESCO/CEPES jointly provide the Secretariat for the ENIC Network. The ENIC Network cooperates closely with the NARIC Network of the European Union.
The Network is made up of the national information centres of the States party to the European Cultural Convention or the UNESCO Europe Region. An ENIC is a body set up by the national authorities. While the size and specific competence of ENIC may vary, they will generally provide information on:
- the recognition of foreign diplomas, degrees and other qualifications;
- education systems in both foreign countries and the ENIC’s own country;
- opportunities for studying abroad, including information on loans and scholarships, as well as advice on practical   questions related to mobility and equivalence.
The NARIC Network (National Academic Recognition Information Centres)

The NARIC network is an initiative of the European Commission and was created in 1984. The network aims at improving academic recognition of diplomas and periods of study in the Member States of the European Union (EU) countries, the European Economic Area (EEA) countries and Turkey. The network is part of the Community's Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP), which stimulates the mobility of students and staff between higher education institutions in these countries.
All member countries have designated national centres, the purpose of which is to assist in promoting the mobility of students, teachers and researchers by providing authoritative advice and information concerning the academic recognition of diplomas and periods of study undertaken in other States. The main users of this service are higher education institutions, students and their advisers, parents, teachers and prospective employers.
The NARICs were designated by the Ministries of Education in the respective countries, but the status and the scope of work of individual NARICs may differ. In the majority of States, institutions of higher education are autonomous, taking their own decisions on the admission of foreign students and the exemption of parts of courses of study programmes that students may be granted on the basis of education undertaken abroad. As a result, most NARICs do not take a decision, but offer on request information and advice on foreign education systems and qualifications.
About the website

This site, a joint initiative of the European Commission, the Council of Europe and UNESCO/CEPES, has been created primarily as a tool to assist the ENIC-NARIC Networks in carrying out the tasks they have been mandated to accomplish within their own jurisdiction, by directing them to up-to-date information supplied and maintained by the competent bodies in each member country and by each member organization. It is also its express purpose to help other interested organizations and individuals easily find information on current issues in international academic and professional mobility, and on procedures for the recognition of foreign qualifications.
Europe and North America Region

Countries that are party to the Lisbon Recognition Convention
. Legal frameworks, tools and related resources.
The Lisbon Recognition Convention, 1997. The Convention, documents adopted under the Convention, and related legal instruments.
Recognition Tools. Resources about academic (Diploma Supplement, ECTS) and professional mobility (Europass and National Europass Centres, National Reference Points, the Recognition of Refugee Qualifications).
The Bologna Process. References, events and activities related to the Bologna Process, initiated in 1999 to establish a European Higher Education Area by 2010.
Framework of Qualifications in the Europe and North America Region. References and resources on qualifications frameworks. Other Resources.
Other Regions
Africa, Arab States, Asia & the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Mediterranean Region. International Organizations.